Teaching English in Italy?

General.

Moderator: Daniel

Teaching English in Italy?

Postby Marcello » Fri Oct 14, 2005 6:41 pm

Hi everyone,

I have discovered that I qualify for dual citizenship and am currently gathering all the necessary documents. I'm also a college student who is pursuing a degree in TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages). I thought it would be a great opportunity if I could take advantage of my dual citizenship and in the future teach English in Italy. Does anybody know if this would be a realistic goal? Can anyone provide me with information about Italy like living costs, teacher salary, availabilty, etc. I would really appreciate any help.
Thank you!

Marcello
Marcello

Also interested in teaching English in Italy

Postby Lindalee » Fri Apr 11, 2008 10:05 pm

I am also interested in learning more about teaching in Italy.
I speak some Italian (am working on it) and also will have citizenhip (jure sanguinis) when I decide to do this.
But is it feasible? Are there jobs? Anyone have any info. on salary range?
I have taught college for the past 10 years--English.

Thanks!
Lindalee

Postby Em » Sat Apr 12, 2008 9:44 am

Why not post your question on www.expatsinitaly.com

Many expats teach English; it seems that if English is your first language, that's the job you get. From what I can determine, obtaining a position in a liceo/universita' is difficult. Most language instructors work for private language schools or tutor independently. The pay seems quite low.
Em

Postby jamato » Wed Dec 10, 2008 11:31 pm

I have a degree in linguistics and teaching english as a second language. It meant nothing to the folks in Italy-- I suggest you investigate obtaining your CELTA certification. I spent four weeks in Cambridge, England and received my CELTA. It's the one the EU recognizes the most. Of course, the degrees don't hurt :-)
jamato

Re: Teaching English in Italy?

Postby piccola_pampina » Wed Jun 03, 2009 12:25 am