Military Service

General.

Moderator: Daniel

Military Service

Postby lanelashbrook » Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:13 pm

Hello,

Forgive me if this question has been asked before on this board, but I couldn't find a thread for my specific question.

I was born in 1984, so as ICGS says on its FAQ, in theory I could be obliged to serve in the military if I want to live in Italy. They say this could be avoided if I am enrolled in a university.

Well, I have a college degree from the US, and I actually want to live and work in France... so would I still be obliged to serve in theory?

Thanks for any help,
Lane
lanelashbrook

Postby Miserdo » Fri Jul 20, 2007 3:02 am

ICGS is wrong. Italy abolished conscription a few years ago. They have an all volunteer military now. Don't worry about getting drafted.
Miserdo

Postby ICGSAdmin » Tue Jul 31, 2007 1:47 pm

Miserdo wrote:ICGS is wrong. Italy abolished conscription a few years ago. They have an all volunteer military now. Don't worry about getting drafted.

ICGS FAQ wrote:On May 8, 2001, the Italian government passed a law (Art. 7 del D. Lgs. 8 maggio 2001 n. 215) making military service completely voluntary as of January 1, 2007. Females do not have any military obligations, nor does any male born on or after January 1, 1986.