Working in Italy/EU

General.

Moderator: Daniel

Working in Italy/EU

Postby thechef65 » Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:41 pm

Does anyone have any realistic idea how easy/difficult it is to obtain a job in Italy/EU? I have an economics degree from a major American university. Obviously the main issue would be that I do not speak Italian at this point. I have just received my letter confirming my citizenship and figure there isnt any better place to learn Italian than Italy. I would also be open to moving to England/Ireland. If anyone has any worthwhile experience please let me know.
thechef65

Postby yjg » Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:38 pm

Try this forum, all expats living in Italy. They probably have some great advice.

http://expattalk.com/eve
yjg

Postby Tiffany » Wed Aug 06, 2008 8:01 pm

It's difficult even as a citizen, but for real life accounts, use the site yjg gave you. They are a good honest bunch and will tell it to you like it is.
Tiffany

Postby thechef65 » Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:11 pm

Thanks Tiff and yjg. I will look at the site that you provided. It looks like there is some decent info on sites which provide information on available jobs for English speakers. Do either of you have any idea which sites may be useful for finding finance/banking/economics jobs in London? Thanks
thechef65

Postby matta » Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:19 pm

thechef65 wrote:Thanks Tiff and yjg. I will look at the site that you provided. It looks like there is some decent info on sites which provide information on available jobs for English speakers. Do either of you have any idea which sites may be useful for finding finance/banking/economics jobs in London? Thanks

Just throwing it out there, but many of the big consulting and investment firms will hire you in the US and move you internationally, provided you have authorization to work in the other country. I've had several friends make the international move a year or two after working in the US.
matta

Postby Tiffany » Wed Aug 06, 2008 10:27 pm