Education

General.

Moderator: Daniel

Education

Postby Anonymous » Tue Aug 01, 2006 2:23 am

Hi :roll:
I'm a student in Australia and i just recieved my italian passport,
i am very interested in know how the university education system in itally works is it really free.
Kind regards
Samantha
Anonymous

Postby Em » Thu Aug 03, 2006 4:17 pm

It's very inexpensive. Of course, you will need to apply and show that your Australian high school diploma is equivalent to that received from an Italian liceo. Some universities in Italy are more competitive than others. And, of course, all courses are conducted in Italian.
Em

Postby Anonymous » Wed Aug 16, 2006 10:39 am

Yesa, education is free in Italy, as per the website ICGS. However, the consulate in Chicago also says it is free.

There is no tuition, But, there are certain "fees" to be paid, which are minimal compared to the US system. As EM says, it is relatively inexpensive. However, certain higher learning universities and private schools would charge a small tuition, but it is nothing compared to the thousands and thousands of dollars, US colleges ask for. Also, many Italians have a low income, in which to live, in which case, their fees are either paid for by the government or greatly reduced to where you can afford it.
Anonymous

Postby jpp888 » Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:28 am

Well free university and free healthcare are myths. The fact is that both are paid for through your 22-48% rate of tax and social contributions. There aren't any fees to study at the university (aside from some small admistrative fees, etc.) but then you will end up paying for the education you have been given in the form of taxes when you enter the workforce. Everyone who lives or works in Italy pays for these things, whether one uses them or not. The only way one would get any of these things free is if they lived in Italy and never worked a single day in their life.