visa appointment- HELP!!!

Share information about your experiences with the citizenship department of a particular Italian (or other) embassy or consulate.

Moderator: Daniel

visa appointment- HELP!!!

Postby corrado » Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:08 am

My daughter had an appointment yesterday at the chicago consulate for a student visa, she didn't have a bank statement with her, so they sent her away in tears. It seems that it impossable to get an appointment before she is supposed to be in Italy, any sugestions> :x
corrado

Postby Larry » Wed Dec 10, 2008 10:33 am

Could be a problem... In 2004/2005 when I studied abroad (and before I realized I was an Italian Citizen) the Boston Consulate was terrible at giving out student visas. One needed to have an appointment (9:00Am-12:00PM) but they would only take a handful of people a day. That is to say, you may have had an appointment but still not get in for your interview. As the beginning of the semester approached, kids were sleeping on the street outside the consulate just to keep their spot in line. What ended up happening was some parent got BS and called the local TV news. They had a crew out there filming the kids on the street and then the reporter went into the building to try to get an interview. They did not get much of an interview, but soon there after it was not hard to get a student visa...

I think I had to show my student visa to my University for them to fully enroll me in the program, but if her school is not asking for a copy, she could easily get through customs as a tourist. She may (I am not sure) even be able to get a visa in Italy after her landlord turns in her papers to the police saying that she is legally residing in his/her appartment. Once this is done, I believe she would no longer be under the juristdiction of Chicago, but rather whichever comune she is living in. Hopefully someone else would know for sure or be able to offer another suggestion. Best of luck.
Larry