Naturalization in Bronx County Supreme Court

Determine if an ancestor was ever naturalized and, if so, discuss your consulate's requirements for proving this.

Moderator: Daniel

Naturalization in Bronx County Supreme Court

Postby ersk19 » Fri Apr 17, 2009 10:42 pm

Hello - I am just getting started on this process and was hoping for some advice. A family member located my great-grandfather's original certificate of naturalization, which dates from 1927 and was granted by the Supreme Court in Bronx County. I understand that I risk losing the original document if I submit it with my application so I would like to obtain a copy. Does anyone know where I am most likely to find this record? Should I contact the court directly or the Bronx County Archives? I have filed a request with USCIS but I've read that can be a long process. If I get a record from the court or county, do I need to get it certified in some way? Any advice is greatly appreciated!
ersk19

Re: Naturalization in Bronx County Supreme Court

Postby CPA21 » Sat Apr 18, 2009 1:36 am

If you have the book and page number you can obtain a court certified copy of the delcaration of intent, petitio, and oath of citizenship. The consulate will be happy to work with these documents.
CPA21

Postby federici1999 » Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:23 pm

Archivist
Send an e-mail with all the information to the new york archive. I believe its 18.00 for a copy certified and bound with a red ribbon. This is what I did I oreder 2 in cases the consulate wanted to keep one or it was lost in the process.
The National Archives and Records Administration

Northeast Region

201 Varick Street , 12th Floor

New York , NY 10014

(866) 840-1752 newyork.archives@nara.gov
federici1999

Postby CPA21 » Sun Apr 19, 2009 5:37 pm

Do the archives have the Bronx County Supreme Court filings?

I do not think so.