An unusual case

Are you eligible for Italian Citizenship jure sanguinis?

Moderator: Daniel

An unusual case

Postby Sunflower » Sat May 16, 2009 11:12 pm

Hello,

If someone can help, I would greatly appreciate it.

My father was born in Italy in 1933. His father was born in Italy and went to America to find work. His father became an American citizen before my father was born. His mother was an Italian citizen.

My father came to the United States in the 1950s. He claims he has dual citizenship, and he periodically receives mail from his hometown in Italy to vote.

Does my dad have dual citizenship?

Thank you.
Sunflower

Re: An unusual case

Postby LookingEast » Sat May 16, 2009 11:27 pm

Hello

I'm not an expert on unusual cases, but it looks to me as if both you and your father have it. I believe that the 1912 law establishing jure sanguinis (citizenship by inheritance) allows a child to inherit citizenship from his mother if he was born in Italy (but not if he was born outside Italy).

It looks as if your father has received Italian citizenship from his mother in 1933 and that he has kept it for his whole life, including the day that you were born. So that would bring yourself into the picture.
LookingEast

Postby zagnut » Sun May 17, 2009 12:34 am

From the 1912 law:
Art. 1.
– E’ cittadino per nascita:
1. Il figlio di padre cittadino;
2. Il figlio di madre cittadina se il padre è ignoto o non ha la cittadinanza
italiana, né quella di altro Stato, ovvero se il figli non segue la cittadinanza
del padre straniero secondo la legge dello Stato al quale questi appartiene
(2);
3. Chi è nato nel [Regno] se entrambi i genitori o sono ignoti o non hanno la
cittadinanza italiana, né quella di altro Stato, ovvero se il figlio non segue la
cittadinanza dei genitori stranieri secondo la legge dello Stato al quale
questi appartengono.
Il figlio di ignoti trovato in Italia si presume fino a prova in contrario nato nel
[Regno].